The Embassy

DFA LogoThe Philippines established its resident embassy in Oslo, Norway on 30 April 2007. It is the Philippine government's official contact point with the authorities in the entire Nordic region covering the Kingdom of Norway, the Kingdom of Denmark, the Republic of Finland, the Republic of Iceland and the Kingdom of Sweden.

The main tasks of the Embassy are to work for the enhancement of Philippine political, economic and cultural relations with these countries, to protect and promote Philippine interests throughout the Nordic region and to provide consular services to the approximately 50,000 Filipinos who reside in the area.

The Embassy also oversees the operation of six Philippine Honorary Consular posts in the region: The Philippine Honorary Consulates in Reykjavik, Iceland in Växjö, Sweden and in Stavanger, Norway and the Philippine Honorary Consulates General in Copenhagen, Denmark, in Helsinki, Finland and in Stockholm, Sweden.

History of the Embassy

The Philippines established diplomatic relations with Norway on 2 March 1948. Minister Nikolai Aal was the first official to represent Norway in the Philippines (based in what was then Nanking, China). From 1952 to 1956, Norway was represented by a Consulate, later, by a Consulate General in Manila. The Norwegian Embassy in Manila was opened in 1967.

In the past, the Philippine Embassy in the United Kingdom was responsible for Philippine relations with Norway. In June 1986, this responsibility was transferred to the Philippine Embassy in Stockholm, Sweden.

On 30 April 2007, Second Secretary and Consul Porfirio M. Mayo, Jr. opened the resident embassy in Oslo and was the Embassy's Chargé d'Affaires, ad interim (CDA) until Ambassador Victoria S. Bataclan arrived in Norway in May 2007. In January 2009, Ambassador Elizabeth P. Buensuceso took over the Post as Ambassador to Norway, Denmark and Iceland. In September 2011, Ambassador Bayani S. Mercado succeeded Ambassador Buensuceso.

With the closure of the Philippine resident embassies in Helsinki and Stockholm in 2012, the jurisdiction of the resident embassy in Oslo was expanded to cover both Sweden and Finland.